Flea Market Flames

Standard

A small excerpt from Grant Garland’s short story “Flea Market” reads,

“I drove home with the radio on the passenger seat. I thought about how I never shook the one-armed man’s hand. Then I tried to remember which arm he had been missing. I couldn’t recall. Men shake hands with the right hand. I wasn’t feeling good about the radio anymore. He had given me his word, but we didn’t shake on it. That mattered to some people. I wasn’t sure if it mattered to me or not.”

In “Flea Market,” Garland explores themes of friendship, emptiness and the tricky cost-benefit of deciding whether to fix something mysteriously broken with a poignancy subtly amplified by his dexterous minimalist style. Find the full piece in our forthcoming first issue.

fleamarket

Photo Credit: Unknown
(http://im.boklm.eu/4934863775.html)

One thought on “Flea Market Flames

Leave a Reply

