Wordsmith Wednesday: Roald Dahl’s “The BFG”

Standard

This week for our “Wordsmith Wednesday,” I’ve chosen a quote from one of my favorite authors of all time, Roald Dahl. If there is one thing that anyone knows about me, minus my love for bread, it’s that his writing has constantly inspired and influenced my writing style.

From his children story, The BFG, comes this quote spoken by the BFG himself:

“What I mean and what I say is two different things”

Such a simple statement made by a simple man can hold so much meaning in the present world and the world of writing. Many times we look for a deeper meaning within an author’s words but often that meaning and the author’s intentions are different. In either case, both are completely valid. The actual intention of the author does not have to matter as long as you find meaning and a connection to their work. That is the most important part about writing, when someone connects with the scrambled letters that you have written down on a page and feels like another person out there in the world understands.

– KK

BFG

2 thoughts on “Wordsmith Wednesday: Roald Dahl’s “The BFG”

  1. To anyone who hasn’t seen the original or read the book, this looks like a horror movie. 😂 I both read and watched this story when I was a child, and I barely rememember anything except for the giant plucking Sophie from her bed and this is still such a terrifying idea to me. To this day I still cannot sleep with the windows open 😂

Leave a Reply

