Wordsmith Wednesday: Screaming Females’ “I Don’t Mind It”

Standard
This week’s Wordsmith Wednesday comes from the Screaming Females song “I Don’t Mind It” off their album Castle Talk on Don Giovanni Records.
 
The words read:
 
“I don’t wanna miss you/
It’s tight, I can’t unwind/
I’ll be blown to bits/
But I don’t really want to die/
You do me great service/
When you call my bluff/
I’ll stay home for hours/
But it’s just never enough”
 
Marissa Paternoster has a knack for splicing together the macabre and the melancholy in her music/lyrics/art that encourages me to engage my own weird emotions. This one goes out to all the people who find themselves confused, conflicted, and/or pseudo-suicidal sometimes. Feelings can be freaky, but that just makes the people that can quiet the cranial cacophony that much more valuable. Thanks to everyone that calls my bluff.

– NR

Screaming Females
Leave a Reply

