Wordsmith Wednesday: The Halo Benders’ “Virginia Reel Around the Fountain”

Standard
Our Wordsmith Wednesday this week are from The Halo Benders‘ song “Virginia Reel Around the Fountain” off their album The Rebels Not In, released on K Records in 1998.
 
The lyrics are,
 
“I still confide in you almost every day,
Even though you’re not around”
 
Doug Martsch’s delivery of these lines pulls at my stomach strings, filling me with nostalgia and longing for formless memories. For anyone that has been separated from someone they love, whether through distance or death, these words articulate emotions simultaneously intangible and engulfing. They remind me of people I miss, some of which I know I’ll never speak to again. Thanks to everybody that talks to me, even if it’s only in my head.
– NR
The Halo Benders
Leave a Reply

