Wordsmith Wednesday: The White Stripes’ “Truth Doesn’t Make a Noise”

Standard

Our words this week are from The White Stripes’ song “Truth Doesn’t Make a Noise” off their album De Stihl.

Simply:

“truth doesn’t make a noise”

This line has stuck with me since I first heard it in my early teens. I’ve written in the margins of notebooks. I’ve scribbled it on bathroom stall walls. I’ve worked it into short stories. It’s a reminder to attempt to block out the ceaseless static that surrounds me in on a daily basis and try to reach for something more permanent, more stable. Something closer to truth than the empty promises of politicians or the shiny new trash vying for our money and attention. I believe that actions speak louder than words and in the coming years it will be action (or the lack thereof) that shapes our reality. So stay active, engaged, vigilant. Try to do the grunt work on the ground. You don’t need to talk about. You just need to do it. We need to do it. The truth may be subjective, but direct and sustained aid to those in need in your community is concrete. Good luck. Let us know how we can help.

– NR

white-stripes

Leave a Reply

